privacy settings: Google tweaks privacy settings to keep less user data


Washington: Google is tweaking its privacy settings to keep less data on new users by default. The search giant said that starting Wednesday, it will automatically and continuously delete web and app activity and location history for new users after 18 months.

Settings for existing users won’t be affected but the company will send reminders about the feature.

The change comes after Google added new controls last year that allow users to effectively put an expiry date on their data, by providing the option to auto-delete location history, search, voice and YouTube activity data after three or 18 months.

The company is also making it easier to toggle in and out of incognito mode while using its Search, Maps and YouTube mobile apps by doing a long press on the profile photo. In incognito mode, Google doesn’t remember any activity during online browsing.

In another change, users will get easier access to their controls when doing Google searches. If they’re signed into their Google accounts and search for terms like “Google Privacy Checkup,” they will see a box only visible to them with their privacy and security settings.





Source link

Share This Post

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on linkedin
Share on print

Posted By :

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More to Explore

Want to Write Such Blogs?

Just Fill in Your Details to get started

Want to Write such blogs?

Join in like all our authors and be a part of this community

small_c_popup.png

Hello

We are happy you are here

[wppb-login]

Oh No!

It seems like you have forgotten your password. Don’t worry tell us your email id or username and we’ll try to help
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on linkedin
Share on print
error: Alert: Content is protected !!
Secured By miniOrange